Argentina's Crowning Moment: Celebrating Lionel Messi's 2022 World Cup Win

Messi's personal success has been unmatched. He has won a whopping seven (7) Ballon d'Or trophies.

Argentina's Crowning Moment: Celebrating Lionel Messi's 2022 World Cup Win
Messi lifting the World Cup trophy. He was robed by the emir of Qatar showing his royalty. Source: ABC.

The 2022 World Cup was a thrill to watch as the best national teams battled it out for the ultimate prize. The tournament was sensational but it was nothing compared to the thriller of a final that we got. Argentina went head-to-head with France and, in a way, their meet sparked football magic because boy was that game played! In the end, Argentina came out as the winner of the 2022 World Cup after beating France on penalties.

Argentina beat France on Penalties to Lift the 2022 World Cup

Argentina scored 3 goals including a brace from Messi, and a goal from Angel Di Maria, with France coming from behind to also score three, thanks to a hat trick by Kylian Mbappe. The game's 90 minutes ended in a 2-2 draw and had to go to extra time where both teams each scored a goal, making it 3-3, ending the game in a deadlock. As is custom, the game went to penalties and Argentina took home the trophy after beating France 4-2 on penalties.

Argentina 2022 World Cup Final Goalscorers

Argentina's 4 penalty scores were scored by Lionel Messi (his third goal in the match), Paulo Dybala, Leandro Paredes, and Gonzalo Montiel who capped the win. France only managed to score two penalties and these were scored by Kylian Mbappe (his fourth goal in the match) and Randal Kolo Muani. Their two missed penalty kicks were taken by Kingsley Coman and Aurelien Tchouameni. Argentina's goalkeeper Emiliano Martinez was a marvel and saved one of France's two missed penalties.

How Many Times has Argentina won the World Cup?

Argentina won the World Cup for the third time this year, 36 years after they last won the trophy in 1986. Their 1986 victory was spearheaded by the late Diego Maradona (then Greatest Footballer of All Time) and now this one is championed by Lionel Messi, the Greatest Footballer of All Time.

Argentina is second to Italy in having the longest gap between when they won the trophy. Italy's gap is 44 years (1938-1982) and Argentina's is 36 years (1986-2022). Argentina has also won the most penalty shootouts for any team in the World Cup, with the 2022 World Cup penalty shootout being their sixth to win. They are also the third nation to win a World Cup final shootout after Italy in 2006 and Brazil in 1994.

Messi's Success: Why Lionel Messi is the Greatest of All Time (G.O.A.T)

Messi's personal success has been unmatched. He has won a whopping seven (7) Ballon d'Or trophies and has won 42 trophies in the 12 tournaments he has taken part in; 35 of these being with his former Club Barcelona. Surprisingly, the only trophy he has not won is the French Cup which is also referred to as the Coupe de France. Messi has won 10 La Liga titles, 7 Copa del Rey titles, and 4 UEFA Champions League titles. With Argentina, he won the 2021 Copa America and the 2022 World Cup.

Messi's Broken Records

Messi's 'Most Goals Scored' Records Held

Messi has broken almost every record there is to break in football. He holds the record for the most goals scored in La Liga with 474 goals, the most hat tricks in the UCL with 8, and also the most hat tricks in La Liga with 36. He also holds the record for the most assists in Copa America with 17 and also the most assists in La Liga with 192.

Messi's 'International Goals' Record

Messi also holds the record for the most goals scored by a player for a single club with 672. He also holds the record for the most international goals by a South American male player with 98. Messi has also won a record six European Golden Shoes.

Messi vs Cristiano: Who is the Greatest of All Time (G.O.A.T)?

With his success reading like a rap sheet for a very notorious criminal, Messi is by far the Greatest Footballer of All Time and is most certainly the Greatest in our Generation. He is only rivaled by Portugal's Cristiano Ronaldo, but fans of both are always stuck in a squabble about who is the greatest.

Congratulations Argentina!

The most touching thing about Messi's and Argentina's 2022 World Cup win was that it was the remaining missing jewel on Messi's crown. It was also very touching to see the boys that looked up to Messi, such as Julian Alvarez and Enzo Fernandes, play with him and win the 2022 World Cup.

Messi with Julian Alvarez
Messi with Julian Alvarez. Source: Yahoo.

Argentina deserved the win but we must also give credit to France for a hell of a final. Kylian Mbappe was particularly impressive scoring a hat trick and a penalty. He'll likely win another World Cup very soon.

Viva Argentina!

Congratulations to Argentina and congratulations to Messi. God Bless Argentina and God Bless Messi! Viva Argentina! What a beautiful World Cup and What a Beautiful Win for Argentina!